MCOM 341

The First Black Female in her Position. Tyrice Coates: Supervisor at Freddie Mac

Some of us have a hard time imagining ourselves as being a leader. But anything is possible if you try and you have the right connections.

Back in 2007 Tyrice Coates just moved to New York and was living the life working a 9 to 5 job, going to work when expected, and then enjoying life with friends afterwards. However as she grew she realized that the it wasn’t always about fun and that sometimes you have to put work harder.

Starting off as an operations team member at Freddie Mac, which is a Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation, Coates has gone on to become the Investments and Capital Markets Operations Manager at Freddie Mac.

How did she get there?

“When I had to do calculations, I would always work until i got to the root of the problem. Whenever we had a meeting I was always vocal and spoke up,” Coates said.

“My supervisor said I was pleasant to work with and made great valid points at meetings.”

“I was loyal, smart, and professional. In 2013 they finally promoted me to manager.”
Ms. Coates has shared with us her a few of the reasons on why she was able to become a manager/supervisor within her company. To expand on her points, please read this post on 5 secrets that can help you become a better leader.

Before she became manager at her current location in Tysons Corner, Virginia, a man used to work in her same position. “When he was let go from the team, he moved to another section of the company, but he never got over the fact that they let him go”

“Because he still works in the company, him on trades and me in securities, I had to check these trades as they came in. Because we still had to work together he use to give me a hard time, because I was a black women who had taken his position.” “I believe that if it was someone else he wouldn’t have done the same thing.”

“This was a first time someone had been nasty to me because of my color, and gender but I’m sure it won’t be the last,” Coates said

“But the best defense to opposition in my opinion was going in and being great. When you’re good at what you do and you know your stuff, you can impress everyone in the room. When you impress, the color, and gender mean nothing anymore.”

(One great example of this phenomena in Media/Movies today, would be a scene from the Movies “Hidden Figures” where Katherine Johnson (played by Taraji P. Henson) shows that gender and color fall away when you show your worth.)

Just know that we are all capable of leadership.

But if you take nothing else away from this post, then take this. Never give up, and never stop trying. When you stop trying, and give in to negativity, that is when you truly fail.

 

Leave a Reply

